Terraria server setup

Nitrado now has an official Discord server to bring communities, friends and other gamers together!
Join the Nitrado Community Discord now and share your experiences and knowledge with others!

Click here to go to the Discord Server!
  • Hello,

Last night, I purchased a 4 slot Nitrado server for me and some friends to play Terraria on. (This is my first time with 3rd party hosting).

I've been trying all night to get the server running, as I wish to load a preexisting world that we had previously worked on, on to the server, but whenever I do, the server just loads up the fresh "Nitrado_terraria_world". I've tried editing the config to correct the path & world name, and have saved (all while the server was off), and then started it, with no success.

Before any of that, I had uploaded my world to the correct path, along with its .bak file, but this seems to be ignored when I start the server? I'm sure I'm doing something wrong here, so could someone perhaps give me some pointers on how to set this up?

Thank you in advance,

Will

• Try to name the world file as name.wld.wld and see if this works for you.

Name would be your world name you chose

Thanks for the speedy reply! I just shut down the server, renamed the actual world file as you said, and then uploaded it to the FTP, then changed the name in the config file, saved and restarted the server and it did the same thing. Upon connecting, it used the same password as was in the config, and then loaded Nitrado_terraria_server. Once this had loaded, I checked back on the config file while the server is running, and it shows me that the name had been automatically changed back to Nitrado_Terraria_Server.wld.

• You should be able to upload the files directly from the web interface into the world locations. Did you try this then starting the server with the world name you're trying to choose?