When I relog I no longer own Tribe Entities

  • I just recently purchased my Ark Server so I am still tinkering around with it and seeing how everything works. I logged out just now and logged back in and it is though I do not own the entities I placed before I logged out. Like my thatch hut says it belongs to "Tribe of Hardbrocklife" but they do not belong to me and I am building blocked. Just curious as to what Im doing wrong.


    Thanks in advanced.

  • It seems as though your character file is not saving your tribe affiliation, the character or tribe file might be corrupted. If you delete your character/tribe files and backups, it will force the system to create a new file.


    Note: the following applies to PC/Steam, there may be some differences in the Xbox version. I think one of the mods runs a Xbox server, he might he able to clarify.


    Shut the server down, wait a few minutes before continuing. Go in the File Browser to arkse/shootergame/saved/savedarks.


    There should be four files for you, ending in arkprofile, profilebak, tribeprofile, and tribebak. On Steam it uses your Steam ID for the filename, no idea what it uses on xbox. Delete all four. Restart the server.


    If the problem persists, I would wipe the server. If that doesn't solve it, uninstall and then reinstall from scratch.

  • Shut the server down, wait a few minutes before continuing. Go in the File Browser to arkse/shootergame/saved/savedarks.

    Does this imply a file organization local to the nitrado server I can remotely access? Or is this on my local machine? If you are referring to files local to the server I am currently unfamiliar with how to access them, though I presume its some kind of FTP client. I have Filezilla already installed on my PC but I do not see any FTP info on my WebInterface Dashboard. I do not have the FTP information box or the MySQL information box, which I presume to be related to having an XBOX server.


    This all is very fun to troubleshoot though, as Im currenty teaching myself all the components of "Full Stack" development.


    Thank you for your help.

  • FTP is not available for XBox servers.

    The only way 'fix' a file is either do a restore from a backup. Note though the saved file may be there.

    Or a reinstall.


    Most folks just use admin to force themselves back in the tribe. This is a game issue, not server.

  • Or a reinstall.

    This is probably where Im going to go. I used admin to give me the entities back, but after logging out and logging back in I found the tribe was dissolved again and many of my engrams that I unlocked had their points refunded, so likely some sort of file corruption.


    Reinstall is going probably going to be the only course of action to take?


    Its not a big deal as I'm purposefully not making progress as I familiarize myself with using the server, because I expect unforeseen variables. Ill only lose maybe an hour of play time.

  • Unfortunately no dice.


    I logged in, leveled up to level 4, picked some engrams and made a tribe, and logged out. Logged back in and my engram points were reset and tribe dissolved. Character level is being retained though, which seems odd to me.


    Is there even a configuration setting that I could have active that would cause this behavior? Is there some sort of hidden backup that I need to delete from the webinterface along with reinstalling the server?

  • FTP is not available for XBox servers.

    The only way 'fix' a file is either do a restore from a backup. Note though the saved file may be there.

    Or a reinstall.


    Most folks just use admin to force themselves back in the tribe. This is a game issue, not server.

    XBOX doesn't even have access to the File Browser in the Server Management screen? Ouch. I'll keep that in mind, as a friend is considering opening an Xbox server.

  • Here is the reply I received:


    "Hello, xxxxxxx

    Thank you for your support request.

    This bugs and glitcheS are being patched by ARK developers. Please let us know if you are still experiencing difficulties with this matter.


    I am not one to draw hasty conclusions based on unsubstantiated claims, but prior to taking over my department at work this is the kind of reply that would be given the customer to get them off the phone as soon as possible. This is not an accusation, simply an observation.


    Doagen, I would have pm'd you my concern but I saw your bio stated that you do not handle support via PM and I wanted to respect that. This is simply an inquiry as to the legitimacy of Tech Supports claim, or if there is a communication breakdown and I need to word my request differently in order to receive the proper resolution. I would have rather Pm'd this to avoid looking like a stereotypical douche that doesn't understand all that goes into running a platform and providing support for it, as I know very well how much work it requires.

    Code
    1. I included a link to the thread for simplicities sake. Th
    2. moderator DOAGEN said:
    3. "I would create a ticket at this point with Nitrado Support and ask to have
    4. your server moved."
    5. My server is not retaining character profile information like engrams or tribe
    6. creation. These are not retained after logging out. We tried a full wipe and
    7. server reinstall and it did not fix the issue.
    8. Your moderator was very helpful as well.


    Now, do I need to word my request differently to receive the desired result, or is the result I received the genuine conclusion for situation?


    I did not see the response to my reply till after I had left for work, but I have my personal laptop with me and will reinstall the server and test again. I'm doing my best to avoid this being a long, drawn out resolution where I am not able to use a service I am paying for.


    Thank you for your help.


    (P. S. I'm also burned out a little with work and it tends to make me a bit more direct)

  • Hello,

    I am unable to speak for Support. We are Volunteer Forum Moderators.


    You can always reply to your ticket asking why the resolution they provided was the result.

    Being no Moderators have access to tickets, we do not know what you had submitted. You may want to reply with more detail, and even that you had posted in the forum with no resolution. Add to it that you have reinstalled the server (if you did), and ask if they would move it to another server. They can respond with more detail and decide not to move it. They are Support.

  • No resolution as of yet for that server. When I asked for details I was never given a reply, and after 4 days of growing increasingly annoyed I took it upon myself to troubleshoot the issue. I rented ANOTHER server, imported all of the my settings, and it worked from the moment I logged in. I reported my findings and asked for a refund for the defective server, saying I did the troubleshooting myself, and received a reply in less than 48 hrs.


    Server stability: 10/10 (when you have a viable server)

    Volunteer Moderator Support: 10/10

    Technical Support: 1/10


    I understand well the volume of support issues that can occur, having managed a highly technical development team where we have to handle support directly, but I'm honestly not impressed with technical support. I also understand they are limited to the tools the hierarchy allows them to have, but had a simple server exchange been the resolution given my time and Nitrados time could have been spared.


    P. S. : I just received a reply that tech support has reloaded a backup of my server to attempt to resolve the issue. I've reinstalled the server no less than 3 times. It's been at least 10 days and we are still attempting backups as the resolution when it says in the logs that the server has been re-installed at least 3 times. The one redeeming thing they have done is commit to extending my subscription time. They wouldn't have to if they simply issued me another server though.

  • My issue was resolved and my server was moved to different hardware. DOAGEN, can you make the thread with [Resolved]? For those that may stumble upon this thread, if youh have an issue and you want it remedied asap, take screenshots of your issue and possibly a video recording as well. Submit this with your support ticket as it will likely move the process along much quicker.


    Thank you for the help DOAGEN.